New quarter starts today

Today starts my second quarter of being in school after being out of school for 25 years.  I’m doubling up on my credit load, 10 instead of 5 credit hours and feeling some trepidation about it but I think I can manage it, though it will be stretching and working all kinds of “muscles”  of the non-body variety in ways beyond which they’ve grown accustomed over the past 14 years.  For those past years I was initially a completely “stay at home” mom and then a part-time stay at home mom.  So on top of not being full-time in the workforce for many years, a move across the country and the down-turn of the economy, that occurred two years into our relocation, have made getting gainfully employed full-time, without the benefit of further education, beyond my reach… apparently.  Thanks  in part to the encouraging nudges of a very significant person in my life, who is not my husband, I finally dredged up the hope that I might be able to grow some confidence in myself by getting training in an occupation that is in demand, one which I think I will enjoy and to  which I feel I am well suited.

So I’m traveling down this road that will hopefully lead me to a place where I can become independent of a marriage that has been good, sadly, for really just one thing, though that one thing is a huge and wonderful thing, our daughter.  I stuck around in this marriage initially because her dad is, though not a good partner or friend, a very good father.  I relocated with him to where we’ve lived for the past six years to keep my daughter’s family intact and because I’d always wanted to live in the Pacific Northwest(always being since I visited here at the age of 20).  For the past two and a half + years I’ve stayed because it’s been financially impossible to do otherwise without completely disrupting my daughter’s life by taking her away from the home she’s come to love and one or the other of her parents.

Suffice it to say it is quite a long and complicated story and I’ve never been any good at the short and sweet version of things, so more of the background will just have to wait til another time.  My whole point is that at 52 years of age I’m hoping to become a big-time blooming late bloomer and to show myself and my daughter that 52 is NOT to old to begin making some very important dreams come true.

5 Comments on “New quarter starts today”

  1. sapphospeaks says:

    Good for you! The three things that kept me prisoner for so long were finances, family and fear. Took the big leap of getting a job after being a SAHM for years, then a part-time SAHM with a variety of jobs while the kids were in school. As far as family, my plan was to wait for my youngest to graduate. I ended up exiting earlier than that; things came to a head and it was time to make the move. Said child will graduate this year after which I will move to another state to be with my partner. Getting rid of the fear is a process. After years of being told I couldn’t make it on my own, I actually came to believe it. Hang in there and thank you for sharing your thoughts!

    • Thank you Sappho. My self-esteem has suffered somewhat as a result of the situation I’ve been living in but I am now finally making some forward movement. I do not know that I am willing to stay in this situation until my child graduates, but until I make myself more employable I will need to remain. Thank you for reading, for sharing your thoughts.and for your encouraging words. Take Care!

  2. rmiles says:

    Yay! I think you’re doing a wonderful service for yourself and your daughter, how awesome to see your mother work for something and succeed? I’ll be cheering for you in my corner of the world.

  3. CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! from the cheering section. Congratulations to you for taking the necessary steps. I am astounded at how many people are in this similar situation, including myself. I look forward to hearing “the rest of the story”. Thanks for being so brave and sharing your story.


Leave a Reply

