Sticking with what nourishes

20160522_151625It’s so funny (as in muse-worthy) how easy it is for me to get out of touch with certain of the activities in life that feed me.  In fact it would seem that I have a remarkable case of amnesia when it comes to these things.  These very things are often the ones I resist most,  knowing (or at least suspecting) that, were I to go outside for that walk or better yet make that short drive up to the mountains and go on a hike, for example, that my mood, actually my very being, would be enhanced significantly. The same holds true with what happens when I am finally able to get myself outside to pull  the weeds that seem bent on perpetuating themselves throughout my yard.  I feel nourished,  energized,  connected….. and the creative juices of what’s possible start flowing as ideas for what I might add to the garden begin to pop into my head. It’s the nurture of being active in nature,  in those situations.

Then consider what happens when I don’t talk myself out of attending a gathering I’ve committed myself to.  I joined several Meet-up groups as a way of building community when I moved to Colorado almost three years ago. Friendships just don’t sprout with the ease that they did when I was young but I’ve found one recurring meet-up in one of the groups that I really like. Nonetheless it’s still always a matter of pushing myself to attend, a bit more pushing required though because, unlike a walk in nature or communing with the weeds, the players are much more variable. But the majority of the time, assuming I attend with an open, unattached attitude, I’m really glad I’ve gone and come away feeling nourished and enriched.

Then there are all the instances of tasks I put off for any number of reasons: housecleaning is boring, paying bills is a downer, a new task is scary in its unfamiliarity. And with the procrastination they all weigh heavier on my psyche.  When I finally quit resisting and instead embrace an item on the eternal ‘todo’ list, the relief I experience, while not being nourishing exactly, is at least an indicator that my energy is no longer being depleted. And the sense of accomplishment I experience is nourishing.

So what’s the takeaway? Resist less, embrace more and when that persistent amnesia strikes yet again, forgive always.

 

 

One Comment on “Sticking with what nourishes”

  1. t.dot says:

    I love this!!! And man oh man does it resonate! I’ve missed you xo 😉


Leave a Reply

